All about barre-style workouts, what inspires me and tips on healthy eating for life

Mmmm…

2 Comments

I thought I would switch it up a bit and share with you one of my favorite things to make especially around this time of year….GUACAMOLE!

I am borderline addicted to avocados. AJ (my significant other) knows that when I order a salad and add avocados to it and ‘they’ forget them…it’s war…..no really 😉 especially if it’s a take out order. I love avocados…on salads, sandwiches and just plain sliced up. The good thing is, they are made up of that good fat- monounsaturated which may help lower cholesterol. They are also a good source of potassium, a mineral that helps regulate blood pressure.

Here is my favorite guacamole recipe…we probably make this oh I don’t know 3-4 times a week 🙂

  • 2 avocados
  • chopped onion 1/8 cup (more or less depending on your taste)
  • chopped tomato (seeds taken out!) 1/8 cup (again more or less depending)
  • Frank’s Red Hot Sauce
  • Cilantro
  • Lime Juice 1 tablespoon
  • Salt & Pepper
Mash up the avocados in a bowl, add the chopped tomato, onions and lime juice. Mix around.  Sprinkle a tiny bit of cilantro in. Add a few drops of Frank’s Red Hot and a little bit of salt &  pepper. Mix again. Taste. Add more of what you think it needs! I make it different every time. Sometimes more or less hot sauce, sometimes more or less lime juice. Totally up to you. I love eating my guacamole with the Red Hot Blues tortilla chips! Choose the chip that is right for you.
Now I’m hungry 🙂
Enjoy! 


2 thoughts on “Mmmm…

  1. Um, yum. My recipe is very similar – the only two things I add (which I believe make a difference!) – a bit of chopped scallion and a dash or two of tequila. It is amazing. Oh – and I always use roma tomatoes, less mush-factor that way. 😉

  2. Now I want some guac!! so tasty, though SO easy for me to OD on, so I have to restrain myself. I concur on Jess’s additions…hers is SO GOOD! (though I bet yours is too!).

Leave a comment