All about barre-style workouts, what inspires me and tips on healthy eating for life

14.25…

4 Comments

That is how many inches Jessica and Jolene (the winners of barre n9ne’s™ 60 day total body transformation challenge…AND spokesmodels) have LOST in 30 days….and the best part is they still have another 30 to go!!!!!

Oh and yes that’s right let’s not forget the spokesmodel part.

When I launched this challenge I was looking for a barre n9ne™ spokesmodel; someone who would go through a 60 day challenge with my staff and I and as a result see significant changes in their body and lifestyle. In turn they would share their story with other clients which would motivate individuals to commit to barre n9ne™ and my method for 60 days to totally transform their body.

AND how lucky am I to have gained not one but TWO AMAZING spokesmodels/role models for my new and existing clients??? I am grateful!

Grateful and PROUD…but surprised…NOPE. Ok well a little. You see I have first hand experience with this method transforming my own body. I didn’t just read about it in a magazine and think “Ok I’ll teach that” or hear stories from friends who loved it and think “If it worked for them it must work for others”.

In October of 2008 I made a lifestyle change…and haven’t looked back. I canceled my gym membership = No more squats and lunges, no more dreadmill, and no more elliptical or stairmaster.

Also no more good days/bad days (re: food).  I focused on sticking to my ‘number’.

I began taking barre and pilates classes and focused on resistance training, light weights, and isometric movements.

For cardio, since I am a dancer, I took dance classes. I did what I enjoyed doing instead of what people told me I should do.

My body began quickly changing. My thighs got leaner, my arms got more toned, my seat lifted, my inner thighs stopped jiggling and my calves were finally defined. I was in awe of how I weighed relatively the same(about 3lbs less) but looked COMPLETELY different!

As I said in a previous post, I have always been lucky genetically. I have never been overweight; I had a teeny tiny waist, a pretty serious booty (lol) and thick muscular legs.  Not a good look in my eyes. I was never unhappy with the way I looked I just wanted to look better, leaner, longer…especially being 5′ tall, LONGER AND TALLER would be nice.

It is because of this transformation of my own body that I want so much to help other women stop hating their bodies and start loving it.

So am I surprised that Jess and Jo have already lost 14.25 combined? Not at all. They are committed, dedicated and determined. I am surprised that it happened SO FAST! AND they still have 30 more days! That’s the awesome part.

What is also awesome, for me, is that this is a tool that will help my staff and I prove to others that the barre n9ne™ method does work. I know there are skeptics out there who think, “Oh this won’t work for me. The only thing that works for me is spinning (or cardio kickboxing or the treadmill).”

Being a small business in a small town it is hard to compete with these big gyms and large franchise studios. What sets us apart, I think, is the personal touch. I care about my clients. I watch their form. I ask them about their goals because I sincerely want to know….and I want them to achieve them.  When I see an article I think they might enjoy, I email it to them. I know bits and pieces of their lives like a wedding they are in soon or their child’s birthday party that they are planning. My clients will never feel like’ just another person’ at my studio.

So congrats Jess and Jo. You have earned this ‘loss’ of 14.25 inches. I am so happy to have had a hand in helping you achieve this awesome result.

Here’s to 30 more days 🙂

4 thoughts on “14.25…

  1. And THIS is why I am so thankful to have met you. Because you care. Truly and without a doubt. And because you know your sh*t, too – not gonna lie. 😉 I am stunned that we’ve lost this much already and STILL have another 30 days to go. I am floored and amazed and proud and THRILLED that we’re learning all of this through you, with you. 30 days – you ain’t seen nothing yet! 😉

  2. I LOVE this post! SO much. Your story and your passion for why you do what you do is just awesome. And I am so like you in that I never thought I’d see the day where I didn’t have a gym membership and didn’t do squats and lunges!! I was so afraid not to do those, remember?? This is the best workout ever, hands down. And I am loving every second of this challenge!!

  3. This is so incredible. I did a very similar thing with a barre class in NYC in Jan and Feb of 2010 — and after that I was hooked and have not stopped. The changes truly are astonishing. Having known Jess and Jolene through blogging and Twitter, I know how hard they work in every class. They earned these incredible changes and deserve to love themselves!

    I feel the same way as you about gym memberships. NEVER again. I used to spin 4 times a week and it did absolutely nothing for my body. I believe the elliptical is a huge waste of time (unless you have a lot of weight to lose, but for women who want to lose a little bit or just get in great shape, it won’t do much). So it is wonderful for me to see you obtain this real PROOF that your method works.

  4. Pingback: So, what *is* barre n9ne? « Determined to Be

Leave a Reply

